*IS He really a Man of GOD??*~~Step-9 Amends can Sting*

So, I’ve been re-working my Recovery steps the last few weeks, along with ALL the other things I do, and I’m still 6+yrs later, trying to get all my *Amends* done with others who I had hurt, or did wrong by, (boy there’s ALOT) and there has been one *employer* left that I have had a hard time gathering the courage to reach out and make the amends to him.

It was at a collection company I had worked at for almost 3yrs. I was way DEEP in my addicted gambling addiction, and I had been stealing money to feed my addiction. Now, I understand my past is JUST THAT, my past, and it is NOT written in any RULE book that the person your trying to make the amends with, has to be Nice about it. AND YES…….even after years of recovery time, we still get one of those “Bitch~Slap” moments across our face from time to time. Those in recovery know what I’m talking about right???

It’s when once in a blue moon, your past deeds in your addiction come back to haunt you for one reason or another. A broken relationship your trying to mend, or LIKE ME, trying to make amends with a past employer, could be a debt you still owe on, & they JUST happen to find you and want there Money. And it reminds us of our past. And some can be *OUCHS* and Sting. AND….seems to happen when things are usually going GOOD in your life!

Well, that is what happened to me this morning. My past employer, and boss found me somehow on LinkedIn and sent me a connect invite. No Message with it. SO I TOOK THE BAIT…..LOL…..So, I accepted the invite, and sent a WARM FUZZY Hello and an apology along with it……..Now…..Keep in mind, he always bragged about how he is a Born Again Man Of God, and he really cares about others, and…….comes from a family background of a few siblings having addiction problems. HERE IS HIS RESPONES TO MY WARM FUZZY AMENDS:
AND, my question is, *Should I deserve this Response, or is it Just me and my Selfishness to have Expected something different???** I would appreciate any comments or thoughts, good or bad…..I’m a Tough Girl….”I can handle the TRUTH”  Thanks Everyone! God Bless, *Catherine*

          I appreciate offering an apology.  As for me being a Christian and then not listening to your excuses for stealing and lying, and then giving you another chance to do it again, I don’t believe that is required, or expected.  I have forgiven you and wish you no ill-will, and have learned from the experience.  Christians are not required to check their brain at the door and ignore human nature, only to be forgiving and kind.  I did not call the police and have you prosecuted, which is something that could have been done and would have severelly limited you getting any more second chances in the future. There is an old adage: “Fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me twice, shame on me.”  I have seen many people who have addictions that need to be fed and they choose to feed them through stealing from their employer.  And they do not stop until they no longer have the temptation.  There was no good reason to allow you back in a position of temptation, and it would have been reckless of me to allow you access to cash again, only making it that much more difficult for you.
I am glad you are finding positive changes in your life, and that you look back fondly at the time you had working at SOCS.  It sounds like you are in a good place and getting better, and that is my hope for you.
Take care, Brian,

 

 

Share Your Recovery Here!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.